Photo Friday – Flowers on the campus of University of Florida

 

As I’ve said before, I know nothing about flowers at all.  But I sure like seeing interesting flowers in unexpected places.  This one was a lone ranger near a parking lot on the campus of the University of Florida.

Driving to campus Saturday morning, I expected little resistance in my quest to find a good parking spot.  Unbeknownst to me, though, a colossal UF graduation ceremony was taking place in the stadium directly next to, but completely unrelated to, my destination.  Frustrated that I had to park miles away on a Saturday morning, I opened my truck door and almost stepped on… this flower.  Which, of course, reminded me that, as frustrating as parking can be, at least I’m not a flower in a parking lot.

Can anyone ID?

Comments

  1. Looks like a type of Fairy Iris – maybe Wild Fairy or White Fairy? So pretty!

  2. It is a type of African iris (known in other parts of the world as a fortnight iris, Latin Dietes iridioides). Here is more detailed information http://www.floridata.com/ref/D/diet_iri.cfm
    The one you snapped may be a hybrid variety because of its purple center.
    Have fun learning about plants. You get to feeling really smart when you can properly identify something 🙂

Leave a Reply

